The Outstanding Physical Education Teacher Award is one way SPEA recognises the outstanding contributions that physical education teachers have made to the teaching, development, and promotion of PE in Singapore.


Nominees must be PE specialists with at least five years of teaching experience. Associate, adjunct, and relief teachers are not eligible for nomination.

A specialist is defined as a PE teacher having one of the following qualifications:

- Bachelor / Postgraduate degree in PE and / or Sports Science or equivalent from recognised tertiary institutions,

- Post Graduate Diploma in Education (PGDE) with specialisation in PE, diploma in Education (PE), Advanced Certificate in Education and Certificate in Education of which the principal subject is PE, or

- Degree or Diploma in Sports-related courses from recognised tertiary institutions and Certificate in Technical Education (for ITE PE lecturers only)

Selection Criteria

- Possess strong PE content knowledge, pedagogical content knowledge and teaching competencies and be able to deliver developmentally appropriate lessons using a variety of effective, innovative and creative teaching strategies,

- Inspire students in cultivating a love for learning about PE and physical activity,

- Show evidence of positive teacher effect over time related to students’ learning and achievements in their PE experiences,

- Be a leader and role model in the PE community.


Selection Process

There are 3 selection phases.
Phase 1: All nominations are submitted.
Phase 2: Shortlisted nominees from Phase 1 will be interviewed.
Phase 3: Shortlisted nominees from Phase 2 will have their lessons observed by OPETA committee members. Video recordings will also be taken at this stage.

OPETA committee members will deliberate and make a decision on the OPETA winner(s) for the year. Awardees will be notified by the committee, and receive the award at the 2017 PE and Sports Education Conference.

Congratulations to the following OPETA award winners.


                           OPETA Award 2017

Mr Louis Ho J Yen from Seng Kang Secondary School


                               OPETA Award 2017

Mr Lincoln Lai Yeng Yew from Fernvale Primary School.


                            OPETA Award 2017 (Merit)

Mr Muhammad Nizam B Shahri from Montfort Junior School

Contact us


For regular updates on our activities and workshops, like us on Facebook!


OPETA is supported by the Physical Education and Sports Teacher Academy and the Singapore Sports Council.

Apply Now

OPETA 2017 is now closed for applications.